Reason # 16 through Reason # 23


happy

Reason #16: I’m so happy. I feel way happier now than I did last year, and, let me tell you, it’s not because the classes are easier (they’re NOT) or more fun (definitely NOT) or because I see my friends more (it’s like we’re never together and then POOF it’s the dismissal bell). So that leaves about one variable. Jesus. And that’s all there is to it.

Reason #17: I want to tell everyone I see. Forget about it being the appropriate time. It’s usually not. But I want to explain it.

Reason #18: When I think about the miracle of the Eucharist, I get all fluttery inside (it’s a very technical medical term. Fluttery.) Jesus is giving HIMSELF to ME. Little, sinful, unworthy me.

Reason #19: How can we  be so terribly imperfect without something to strive for?

Reason #20: There’s something in the Bible for everyone. Lawyers? read Leviticus. Tell me how you like it. Insomniacs? Also read Leviticus (just kidding.) Romantics? Song of Songs or the Psalms, or Esther. Only someone who knows everyone in the world could have planned that, and I know I certainly don’t!

Reason #21: People die for it. People don’t sacrifice their lives for atheism, because the very principle of atheism is that there’s NOTHING to die FOR. We have martyrs, who hope that they will get to see their God face to face and experience eternal joy; they have the hopeless.

Reason #22: If nothing else, at least our martyrs get to die looking forward to something.

Reason #23: If there’s nothing to die for, how sad is that? If there is nothing you’re committed to enough to sacrifice your life for, isn’t that sad? It’s passionless, emotionless. And joy? Nope.

Leave a comment